Diving GBR & Yongala, 2016

Due to an atrocious exchange rate at the moment, I decided to make an effort to do a bit more local diving this year. I was hesitant about diving the Great Barrier Reef due to all the reports of coral bleaching and coral death, but at the end of the day, I just really needed to get out for a dive!

So off I went on a 3 night liveaboard trip out of Townsville to visit the GBR and the Yongala wreck. Two days of diving on the reef and one day on the Yongala for a theoretical 10 dives (I did 9, skipped one of the night dives).

The trip was rough. I spent most of my time on the boat curled up in bed trying not to puke my guts up. And most of my time underwater also trying not to puke my guts up because I was still feeling seasick. Seasickness tablets only work so well.

Still, the trip was largely enjoyable. The diving was good, the reef was in better condition than I was anticipating, and the Yongala delivered the good stuff. Photos below 🙂

One thought on “Diving GBR & Yongala, 2016

Leave a Reply.

